Share Article

2023 Peter Bryant Challenger Award

image of the list of the previous winners.

Ed Iskenderian Named 2023 Peter Bryant Challenger Award Winner

SAE SoCal Continues Tradition Established by Riverside Raceway Museum. Award to be Displayed at the Lions Automobilia Foundation and Museum

By The Editors

Mon, Jul 10, 2023 10:13 PM PST

The Peter Bryant Challenger Award was conceived by veteran racer (and LA Car writer) Dave Wolin and long-time motorsports PR practitioner (and LA Car fixture) Doug Stokes. First presented in 2010 at the "Legends of Riverside" event at the Riverside Raceway Museum, the Peter Bryant Challenger Award pays homage to the work that Bryant did in the technical and design side of the racing sport. Since the Riverside Museum closed in 2016, the organizers have been in search of a new organization to tend to the annual award. SAE SoCal has stepped into the role.

The 2023 Bryant Award will be presented at twelve noon on Saturday, July 15th as part of the Lions Automobilia Foundation Museum's very special car show celebrating Ed Iskenderian's 102nd birthday...

Iskenderian, also known as "The Camfather”, has been an innovator, engineer, and racer for over 80 years. He turns 102 on Monday, July 10th, and continues to be active in the business that carries his name.

Wolin noted that Iskenderian: “Represents the true spirit of motorsports engineering.his pioneering work with camshaft technology and design set the pace for the industry very early on. I’m quite pleased to see Ed's name go on the Bryant, it really belongs there.”

The Southern California Section of SAE International is honored to be taking on the role of presenting the annual Bryant Award honoring motorsports technical excellence. The Lexan and Titanium permanent award will be on display at the Lions Automobilia Foundation and Museum located just south of Los Angeles in Rancho Dominguez, California.

Peter Bryant enjoyed a half-century career in the automotive world, ranging from Formula 1 to motorhomes and everything in between. He is most remembered for his iconic Ti-22 CanAm car. Bryant captured many of his career stories in the book CanAm Challenger, published in 2007. Bryant passed away in 2009. His many industry friends, led by Doug Stokes, created the award to honor his career and to recognize many of the unsung heroes of the sport, the engineers and craftspeople who designed and built the cars, motorcycles, and other race vehicles.

image of Isky
Ed Iskenderian

When Stokes learned that Bryant had been an active SAE SoCal board member, he knew he had an organization that shared both the love of Southern California motorsports as well as technical innovation.


Lana Chrisman, Executive Director, Lions Automobilia Foundation: “The Lions Automobilia Foundation and Museum shares many common goals with SAE, including a passion for history, technology, craftsmanship, and education. This award is a natural for us to have on display as we encourage future innovators by inspiring them with amazing history. And of course, every drag racing fan who knows the history of the sport knows Isky.”

Mike Guidry, SAE SoCal Section Chair: “This is a great opportunity for SAE SoCal to honor the long tradition of West Coast motorsports innovation that has ranged from the origins of drag racing to Formula 1. Several of our board members have great memories of working with Peter. We hope this award will become to SoCal SAE what the Schwitzer Award* has been with the Indiana SAE section.”

Lois Bryant, widow of Peter Bryant: “Peter was a member of SAE for many years. While serving on the board he organized many fundraisers, such as golf tournaments and at that time the most successful event "The Alex Tremulis Night." Peter traveled to several universities and colleges to give talks to future engineers. After the talks, he would be surrounded by the students asking if he would come to their shop and critique the vehicle they were building. The answer was always "of course I will". He was involved and had a deep concern for these aspiring engineers as they would become our future in the Automotive Industry. I know he would be so proud and happy to have the SAE take over the stewardship of "The Peter Bryant  Award", as well as organizing the yearly presentation to deserving recipients. I would like to give my personal thanks to SAE for continuing Peter's contributions to the automotive world through the giving and receiving of this award.”

Doug Stokes, Founder and Bryant Award Selection Committee: “When I learned that Peter Bryant was an active member of the SAE SoCal board, I knew they were the right group to continue this tradition. I really think that Peter would approve of this new chapter for our award.”

Previous Honorees

2010 Howden Ganley
2011 Phil Remington
2012 Bruce Burness
2013 Trevor Harris
2014 Tyler Alexander
2015 Alwin Springer
2016 Ike Smith
2016 Dan Gurney
2017 Joey Cavagleri
2018 Jimmy Dilamarter
2019 Paul Van Valkenburgh 
2020 No award (COVID)
2021 " " "
2022 " " "
2023 Ed Iskenderian


For over 50 years the Louis H. Schwitzer Award for Engineering Innovation and Excellence has been presented by the Indiana Section of SAE International to an engineer or team of engineers "for their innovative design and engineering excellence" and acknowledges "engineers with the courage and conviction to explore and develop new concepts in racing technology" in racing vehicles for the Indianapolis 500.

This article was compiled by the editors of LACar.

You Might Also Like These Articles:

porsche taycan at sunset with a camera crew

Taycan Turbo + Super Bowl = ?


Porsche Taycan Breaks Indoor Speed Record

gymkhana car barely staying on dock while racing

Launch Control: Road to Gymkhana

BMW 2 front with signature BMW grille

BMW 2 Press Launch Lunch-Shoot


MINI USA Looking for #MINILoveStories